With this being my fifth year of hosting First Night Spotlight, we saw yet again the talent level of high school students around Missoula on display for New Year's Eve. The show this year was unbelievable, the performers looked and sounded great!

This was another year that I was so happy to be hosting the event and not one of the judges who had to decide a winner. All contestants were so tremendously talented, it would be so hard to pick just one winner.

Here is the list of all performers and songs they sang:

Thea Keene - "Things I Regret" by Brandi Carlisle
Luna Whiting-Yeo - "Hallelujah" by Leonard Cohen
Darla Sweeney & Grace Slayden - "From This Valley" by The Civil Wars
Michael Boris, Tristan Redearth, & Hunter Olson - "Dear Theodosia" from Hamilton: An American Musical
Kenzie Richards - "Bubbly" by Colbie Caillat
Faith Arledge - "All I Ask" by Adele
Maggie Neaves - "Stone Cold" by Demi Lovato
Ashley O'Bannan - "One and Only" by Adele
Caytie Tipps & Riley Nielsen - "Chasing Pavements" by Adele
Makenna Alick - "Bust Your Windows" by Jazmine Sullivan
Logan Rauk & Annie Hickok - "House of the Rising Sun" by The Animals
Bradie Matt & Hattie Kesel - "Desperado" by Glenn Frey & Don Henley

This year our audience got to help with some judging as well, the People's Choice award voted on by the audience at the Dennison on New Years Eve was, Makenna Alick!

And our winner of the whole event, it was her fourth time competing, congrats to Faith Arledge from Big Sky High School!


    Look at the beautifully snow covered Lolo, MT!

More From 94.9 KYSS FM